Women in Film and Media Colorado

Profile Updated: March 29, 2017
Women in Film and Media Colorado
Address: Denver, CO USA
Website/Homepage: www.wifmco.org
Number of Members: 153
President/Chair: Kathryn Gould
Yes! Attending Reunion
Mission Statement

Women in Film and Media Colorado is a non-profit organization committed to uniting, educating, and empowering women media makers and their community by providing resources, networking and educational programs, and by actively pursuing equitable treatment and opportunities for women.

About Your Chapter/History

Women in Film and Media Colorado was born when two like minded female mediamakers met one night at a CFVA State of the State. Writer and actor Kathryn Gould has been a member of the Denver film community for over 10 years, and filmmaker Windy Borman had recently moved here from the San Francisco Bay Area. Kathryn had been wanting to start a Women in Film chapter for some time, and Windy, a former board member of Bay Area Women in Film and Media, was wondering why there wasn’t one here already. As they started bringing on more and more amazing women who were enthusiastic about the idea of a Women in Film chapter in Colorado, WIFMCO was born—and clearly, it was time for it to happen. Starting with a launch party in March of 2016 that drew over a hundred guests, WIFMCO grew to over 150 members in less than a year. With an educational and/or networking event every month, a screenplay contest, and more programs on the way, a WIFMCO membership is the best deal in Colorado for both seasoned and aspiring professionals in the entertainment business.

Brief Description of your Key Programs

Monthly events - about 9 professional panels covering all aspects of the business and 3 social/ networking events, 2 of which are also fundraisers. We also hold an annual screenwriting contest for Colorado women, have a mentorship program and a film finishing grant.

Current Officers

Sheila Schroeder - VP
Courtney Potts - Interim Secretary
Amanda Woodson - Interim Treasurer
Charity Dorrance - Treasurer in Training/ Member at Large
Nancy Snyder - Programming Chair
Alicia Leeper - Interim Marketing Chair
Trai Cartwright - Development Chair
Tricia Mentor - Member at Large
Kristin Edwards - Member at Large
Chelsea Morgan Eddington - Student Member at Large

Women in Film and Media's Latest Interactions

Hide Comments
Mar 29, 2017 at 3:12 PM
Mar 29, 2017 at 3:11 PM